Rod and Reel Tactics for Pee Dee River

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by NCCatter, Mar 30, 2006.

1. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    I have been fishing the Pee Dee above Blewett Falls for about 2 years now and seem to do well on jugs. Lots of fish in the 5 to 15 lb. range. However, we usually don't do too well on rod and reel. We fish on the bottom with rods but jugs are usually ranging from 5 to 12' off bottom. Any suggestions? Trot lines and limb lines work well in spring and summer as well.

2. bmastiff

bmastiff New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Hey NCCatter
    Where do you fish, you put in at 109 bridge or blewett landing?
    I usually fish at 109 bridge, the problem is catching the water right. I fish with bream on the bottom with 4 r&r if the water is moving to fast you need to find eddies and dropoffs. if the rivers high enough i've had a lot of luck at the mouth of the rocky river. let me know if i can help anymore
    Carl

3. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for your help
    Where is the Rocky River?
    I usually put in a Blewett Landing right behind the bait store off 74.
    The biggest fish I have ever caught is 20# and I think it was by accident. LOL

4. bmastiff

bmastiff New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    rocky river is about 6 miles up river from 109 bridge. you can't make it there from blewett landing.
    Do you go up around grassy island or do you stay mainly in the lake?
    I've had pretty good luck aroung the islands but allways seem to do better when i put in at the 109 bridge. The problem with putting in there is the river needs to be high or you can't go very far, to many rocks. allthough i have caught some nice cat right there at the landing.

5. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    You talking about the landing on Grassy Island road as being Rocky River?