Rocks or log jams?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by douglas_413, Mar 17, 2007.

1. douglas_413

douglas_413 New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I have to mostly fish a large river on the rock edge side. Do you guys think It is better to fish rocks in the current or log jams on sandy flats for flat heads?

2. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    I would fish the log jams for flatheads.

3. F150Catfish

F150Catfish New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    I would say both, because depend where I fishing at. well I have caught them by rocky and log jams. I have seen many jugfishing near the high buffs as rocky.

4. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'd say the rocks when they are feeding because that's where the baitfish will hang out, and the log jams when they are resting. So, I guess both places, and everywhere in between. I'm not very good at catching flatties, so don't take it from me.

5. douglas_413

douglas_413 New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    Thanks for the input guys. I think I will keep fishing the rocks at night and hit the log jams in the day.

6. gcarlin

gcarlin New Member

State:
    Richmond ,Indiana
    BOTH WILL PRODUCE FLATTIES BUT OVER ALL I'D SAY IF THERES A HOLE THATS DARK THATS WHERE YOU'LL GET LUCKY. GOOD LUCK BROTHER

7. rushing

rushing New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I would say fish the logs in the evenings and mornings but the rest of the night fish the rocks.

8. KGK20

KGK20 New Member

State:
    MISSOURI
    You deffently want to fish the log jams the fish will spawn there in the spring and they will lay there durning the day in the summer. You should fish it on a hot summer night throw right next to it when it gets dark they will sart coming out to feed.

9. douglas_413

douglas_413 New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    Any of you guys catching flatties this year yet?

10. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan