River terms

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by ravenloft420, Apr 18, 2007.

1. ravenloft420

ravenloft420 New Member

State:
    mo
    this is my first year ever hitting the rivers hard and Im confused by the terms used to describe areas to fish.

what is a "tail race" ?

what is "rip rap"?

what does oxbow mean?

there are a bunch others I cant think of at the moment.

also I dont have a boat and fish from the bank,is there any tricks to finding these types of structures without a depth finder?

2. ersel

ersel New Member

State:
    Haughton Louisiana
    what is a "tail race" ? water usually swift below a dam

what is "rip rap"? rocks used to control erosion

what does oxbow mean? old river channel fully or partially cut off from current

there are a bunch others I cant think of at the moment.

also I dont have a boat and fish from the bank,is there any tricks to finding these types of structures without a depth finder?[/quote]

3. kylekutta

kylekutta New Member

State:
    NC
    I fished many years without a boat. I caught many fish over 30lb and some over 50 from the bank. I would fish bends in the river,log jams,structure,and around bridges. I would fish as much as I could in many different spots as I could to find the location of lots of fish. Confidence is the biggest tool when fishing and knowing the fish are there. The more you catch in a spot the more confident you get about a spot. It is safe to say that 90% of the fish are in 10% of the water. So if you catch one you can bet there is another. Making yourself believe a fish is in a spot or hole is hard if you have never caught one there. Because you cant see it on a fish finder doesnt mean fish are not there. Hope this helps and good luck.

4. bilyjojimbob

bilyjojimbob New Member

State:
    North Carolina