River conditions after this week's rain?

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by justbfishin, Nov 10, 2009.

1. justbfishin

justbfishin New Member

State:
    Hope Mills
    Hey guys,

I was planning on fishing the cape fear this Saturday. How crazy is the river going to be after this tropical storm passes over and drops several inches of rain? Would this generally be a good or bad time for fish to bite?

Thanks

2. catfishhunter2009

catfishhunter2009 New Member

State:
    North Caro
    Brandon I would agree with Matt . But the best way to find out for sure is to go and give em some sore lips .:eek:oooh::smile2::wink::big_smile: Where you goin below lock #3 or above ? Good luck and let us know how you do ...:0a23:

3. justbfishin

justbfishin New Member

State:
    Hope Mills
    More than likely above locke#3. I'm still learning the river but this time I'm thinking about going past rockfish creek and seeing what's out past there.

4. justbfishin

justbfishin New Member

State:
    Hope Mills
    I've been checking the water level around Fayetteville per the USGS website and the river is up about 9ft higher then normal so far.

Any tips or strategies for fishing when the river is really high or flooded? Like, would you still be looking to fish near deep holes or try to fish around a flooded area that is not usually under water?

5. mankind

mankind New Member

State:
    ashland ky
    i fish the ohio a lot last couple days its been raging and i can't figure out why its not rained that much:sad2:

6. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC
    When the river is raging like that the best places to fish are those out of that HEAVY current. At least that's been my experience. Fish the inside bends and pockets of slower moving water. Or just get right up on the bank if you're gonna fish outside bends.

7. amk29

amk29 New Member

State:
    Durham, NC