rising mo. river/fish tributaries?

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by joer, Mar 10, 2009.

1. joer

joer New Member

State:
    columbiaMo
    Hey guys we all know the river is coming up and water will back up into some of the creeks and tributaries. Is it too early to target cats in those areas yet? I know in the spring with rising water and warmer h2o temps cats will troll the mulberry trees but I haven't targeted them this early in the season. Will they be there or will they hold tight in holes on the missouri? If Gary F. reads this I would like your input.Please help I am trying to update my avatar with a good cat pic.

2. dougc

dougc Active Member

State:
    Independen
    Water's still a little cold, just a couple more weeks...

3. kmcalester

kmcalester Active Member

State:
    Kansas City
    I would say hold off to the end of the month!!!

4. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    Joe, It's my first year with a boat in the early season. One thing I can tell you that I discovered from bank fishing is that the fish will go behind the wing dams for protection on a sudden river rise, especially in in the early season through mid May or so. It may be too early or too cold for that behavior, but it's sure worth a try. Tributary mouths that provide shelter from the grass clippings and other small submerged debris would be another good bet.

5. joer

joer New Member

State:
    columbiaMo
    Thanks to all! It makes sense but I guess I am just ready to get the game on!! I may try it out but it may be a waste of time. I have noticed in the last few days there have been several small cats at the mouth of perche creek and the missouri. We have thrown the net out thinking the graph was showing bait fish but it's turned out to be small cats....they are a b***h to get out of a net! These dudes were about 6 inches long and created a 'cloud' on the graph. Never seen this before that's why I though they were bait fish.

6. rush_60