Rigs questions

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by Darkangler, May 19, 2009.

1. Darkangler

Darkangler New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hi i'm new to catfishing in the missouri i've not been fishing in many years i was wondering what kinda rigs you guys use i've seen alot of people say the Caroline sliding rig works great if so should you reel the line tight or leave some slack for the fish to take off with also heard bottom finder rigs are good where the sinker is tied to the bottom and you tie a loop about 2 feet up and put the hook on there..I'm bank fishing if that makes a difference...Any help would be great.:smile2:

2. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri
    A 3 way slip rig ya cant go wrong set up like a carolina and insted of a weight use a swivle and about 10 inches of tag line and enough bank sinker to keep it down. It will keep it out of the bottom and the lil bait eating bugs and a lot of snaggs in the river if ya fishen dikes.:wink:

3. catchaser19

catchaser19 New Member

State:
    UTAH
    I agree with welder. Another rig is the coralina but is of little value from shore. if ya throw the carolina from shore with a egg sinker or somethin similar. It will just roll along the botto and end up were ya dont want it. The three way rig welder recommends is a good one. I say give it a go, i have also had good success with a bottom bouncer straight below the boat. its just a wire in the shape of a l with a lead sinker in the middle. They are popular in the walleye crowd. Any other questions just post em or shoot me a pm.:cool2:

4. Mo.Hick

Mo.Hick Active Member

State:
    Madison Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Darin. Glad to have ya brother. I use the carilina rig myself. But I fish from a boat 100% of the time. Use bank sinkers or no roll sinkers and that will help keep your line where you want it when fishing in current.

Tom

5. fishingbuddy4

fishingbuddy4 New Member

State:
    Warner Rob ga