rigging and bait question for NC lakes

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by gasman81, Jan 4, 2009.

1. gasman81

gasman81 New Member

State:
    north carolina
    hey all,

what is the more useful rigging and bait type for catfish in the lakes of nc ive tried the gulp and berkley power bait plus some dough balls but only have caught cats on live worms...im still new to catfishing..
    thanks
    gasman

2. kenlaw76

kenlaw76 Well-Known Member

State:
    S.E. Pa.
    What kind of cat's are ya going for?

3. bluecatnut

bluecatnut New Member

State:
    freeburg illinois
    fresh bait here is how i rig 30 lb main line 2-8 ounces lead and a fresh chunk of bloody fish i also u a 8\0 circle hook rigged carolina style

4. 1bluedevil

1bluedevil New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Cut gizzard shad, white perch, and bluegill. That should be a good start. Good luck.

5. flying_v_64

flying_v_64 New Member

State:
    NC
    Andrew welcome to the BOC.
    Here in the small lake I fish channel cats on the only catfish stocked there. The #1 bait there is FRESH chicken livers or dip baits.:smile2:

6. ncfowler

ncfowler Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    Name:
    Jeff
    catfish are strange fish what will work one day may not work another, we hear this on many posts. but a willingness to explore the possibility of what your water holds as bait may make the difference of watching the tip of your rod and landing that personal best. The lake i fish have a good population of bait fish, shad, brim, white perch, ect. If one of these fish does not work i may want to change up or use a combo of these baits. I do mostly drift fishing so i use a carolina rig with a drift weight. when i anchor down i use a slip sinker on the carolina rig and put our a slip bobber keeping the bait up off the bottom in trying to get suspended cats.

7. rahughes

rahughes New Member

State:
    North Carolina