Reliability of fish finders

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by georgiamike, Nov 14, 2006.

1. georgiamike

georgiamike New Member

State:
    Texas
    I bought one of the Hummingbird portable fish finders with smartcast technology. While using it the screen did not show any fish but I caught a 3.5 lb cat and then lost 2 big buffalo while the screen did not show anything. Now it did show fish at times when I was getting bites so it does work, just doesnt seem to always show the fish. Just wondering what your experiences are?

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    I have no experience with this particular brand. I will say that when used properly they are very effective. Take the time to learn the tool and then put it to good use. Best of luck to ya!

3. beakus

beakus New Member

State:
    derby kansas
    i'm in the same boat with you on this one but with a bottomline finder,i think a lot of it is if there on the bottom its hard to tell the diffrence between fish and conture,its easer to detect suspended fish.we just have to get out and really use them.

4. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I don't own a fishfinder, but have the same sort of problems when reading a friends. Usually the screen will show fish, but I can't catch them. Except for depth, and contour, I pretty much ignore it now. I'm sure there's better ways to put it to good use, but I'm not smart enough I guess.

5. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO
    You'll get better results when you start thinking of it as a "sonar display" rather than a "fish finder"...

6. bhunt

bhunt New Member

State:
    *Required*