Reels for the big ones? - What do the BOC Members use to catch catfish?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by kycatman01, Jan 28, 2006.

1. kycatman01

kycatman01 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    What type of reels do boc members use to land the big river cats? I am kind of new to big river fishing and would greatly appreciate the info!

2. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    I use ABU 6000's, 6600's, 7000's and The Shakespear Tidewater 30L. I have found these to be very capable reels for use on the Ohio and Green rivers. Some may not agree with this assesment but they work well for me.

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    ABU 6500-7000 series..And also the penn 320 gt2-320gt1.

4. Desperado

Desperado Active Member

State:
    Pataskala, Ohio
    Name:
    Clarence
    I'm with these guys. I use the 6000's and the 6500's for all my cat fishing.

5. Ol Whiskers

Ol Whiskers New Member

State:
    Fairfield Township, Ohio
    6500C3 - going on 5 years of hard use, no problems.

6. slimcat

slimcat New Member

State:
    marion kentucky
    I only use the Penn 320gti or gt2 reels for TROPHY cats. The 209 and 309 are great reels to they just don't have the better retrieval ratio and are not caster friendly for the inexperienced baitcaster fisherman.

7. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky