reel upgrades/aftermarket stuff?

Discussion in 'Reel Repair and Upgrades' started by CharlieV, Mar 2, 2009.

1. CharlieV

CharlieV New Member

State:
    Kirksville, MO
    hey, i am pretty new to fishing for things that might stress tackle. . . (used to perch and smallish walleye and bass back home) but i was wondering, is it a wise idea to swap out standard bearings (or other components) on reels for better performing aftermarket versions (and do such "aftermarket" parts even exist for reels?) ? i have an abu 6600 CB (i think that's just the 6500c3 with different color scheme made for cabelas. . . right?) and a king kat 9' rod, what might i consider doing to this set up (or should i leave it alone?) to improve performance (i have not noticed a deficit in performance, i just wondered if there are useful or semi-standard improvements that people make to their equipment. . .)
    thanks in advance,
    Charlie

2. OHriverRat

OHriverRat New Member

State:
    OHIO
    there are aftermarket parts for your reels. I have messed around with alot of them. The bearings will get you a little longer casting distance but for the price I dont think there worth it. Your reels are good and the best advice I can give is to put a good quality line on And change the drag out.

Check out SMOOOOOTH Drag carbontex washers they are the whip with a little Cals drag grease on them.
    Also do a search for mikes reel repair he has alot of aftermaket stuff if you interested.

Doug

3. winston61

winston61 New Member

State:
    Texas
    It's your gear and of course your can do as you choose. I don't think you can beat Smoooth Drag drag washers. Get the carnbontex.

4. Relocated-Yankee

Relocated-Yankee New Member

State:
    Goldsboro