Reel Sizes

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by ryang, Oct 28, 2005.

1. ryang

ryang Well-Known Member

State:
    Blacklick, Ohio
    Name:
    Gary
    Quick question, Ive seen posts about the size of a reel or how much line one holds. I have 2 6500 which hold about 175 yds of 20lbs line I think well something like this Im using 7ft poles and not getting any real distance casting out of them. Im just starting out with the baitcasters this year what I would like to know is what would be a better reel I honestly cant see spooling them all the way to the end with a cast so it should be enough line right. The main reason Im asking is I seen a post on small reels as far as Mono/Braid and person said that 6500s are small. Not that I dont want some bigger reels but I havnt caught anything big with these yet have any of you actually been spooled by a fish with that much line?

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Never been close to being spooled by a catfish...I think alot of us use big reels just because we like them :D My biggest catfish a 50-lb flathead was caught on a abu 6500 spooled with 30-lb test..This reel will probably only hold about 110yds of 30-lb test and the fish did not come close to spooling me..I can see where a massive reel is needed in some conditions however.

3. Nobody Special

Nobody Special New Member

State:
    TN
    Reels usually cast better when the spool is almost full. We spool them up once and when we replace line with new stuff, we only replace about half of it and leave the old line on for backing. That way it only costs about half as much when putting new line on.

Tip: If you have a problem with backlashes, spool off slightly more line that you cast cast and then put some scotch tape over the remaining line on the spool. The line won't backlash deeper than the tape and if you catch a big fish and need the extra line, the tape will pop right off when the line comes off down to it.

4. BIG GEORGE