Reel Full? How do you tell?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by lilrivercatman, May 1, 2008.

1. lilrivercatman

lilrivercatman New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Hi, I just bought an Abu Garcia 6000 from Wally World and ordered 300 yrds of Power Pro 50 lb test(white) . Here is my question though...How do you tell when a reel like that is full? This is my first time owning a reel like this... :wink::confused2:

Also whats that gray plastic piece that flips up on the levelwind( I think?)Whats the purpose of that thing flipping up.

2. OklahomaFever

OklahomaFever New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    well....all reels do have how much line they can take.....should be on the box or the side of reel...if not research on google...it will say like 14lb/275yards....of course that is mono....braided will be alot more....it pretty much on judgement. The way i tell...at the top of the spool...i always go to about 1/8 of an inch....if you go to much...it does really reel as smoothly....imo...hope this helps....good luck... lots of good information here...

3. MAX1955

MAX1955 New Member

State:
    KENTUCKY
    You fill it to 1/16 to 1/8 on the spool, if you over fill the reel you will get backlashes real easy. You can tell where the spool is by pushing the thumb bar or button on the side of reel. This will put it in free spin. The thumb rest flips up for cleaning and getting to backlashes easier.

4. Larry

Larry New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    You should be able to put that entire 300yds on it. I used to do that with my Abu's till I started using mono for backing.
    Keep really good tension on the line when spooling. Run it through a phone book and then put a couple more on top.
    You will be able to tell if you over filled the line will rub.

And put a little bit of backing or electrical tape to allow the line to bite, otherwise you will end up with your line free spinning on the reel. It will feel like your drag is shot.