Reel for the cabelas King Kat rod

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by foodsaver, Jan 10, 2006.

1. foodsaver

foodsaver New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I have purchased a few of the cabelas King Kat Pro rods and I don't know what reel to pair it with. I am just getting started and can't really afford the ABU Garcia reels or anything in that price range.The rods are medium heavy and they are 8' long. What kind of reel would you guys use with these rods?
    Thanks
    Craig

2. brad kilpatrick

brad kilpatrick New Member

State:
    Kansas City
    I have one of those cabelas rods and I'm gonna put a Abu Garcia 6500 on it
    but You said price was an issue, so you might want to check e-bay to find an abu cheaper.

Abu's and penns are all I use for catfishing, but there are other options. I'm sure some others will chime in and help too.

3. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I uses Garcia 6000's on my King Kat Pros. However if you use circle hooks and/or didnt care about a clicker Abu 5000's would work fine too. I know a company that sells redonditioned 6000's for like $30 & 5000's for $25.

4. Itch2Scratch

Itch2Scratch New Member

State:
    Ivy Bend on LOZ, Missouri
    Welcome to BOC Craig, I would suggest you start by looking at one of our sponsors sites, Catfish Connection. Also sounds like Mellon has a good suggestion there.

5. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I would suggest CC for a new reel, but if price was an issue I could share the info on where I get my recondtioned ones at.

6. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    You may also want to try a shakespere tidewater for around 35- bucks..CATFISH CONNECTION does have great prices and selictions.

7. foodsaver

foodsaver New Member

State:
    Tennessee