Question???

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by all_4_Flatcats, May 3, 2009.

1. all_4_Flatcats

all_4_Flatcats New Member

State:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Anybody ever had any luck using baby channels as bait. I pretty much know you fish them the same as Yellow Bellies.

I got a bait shop I go to every once in awhile that sells them in Hamilton, Ohio about 20 or 30min from my house. These guys are pretty cheat of $12 for 2lbs.

2. Lignum

Lignum New Member

State:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Nope, never heard or read about using them.

3. CatBobJimFish

CatBobJimFish New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio
    I've had limited experience with them, every now and then I'd catch one and decide to hook him up as bait, but never had any hits.

One problem I did encounter is how much line the little fish pulled out while I had him hooked up as bait, it would be hard to distinguish between the little channel taking out line and an actual hit, pound for pound channels are some tough little fish.... perhaps the ones they sell in the bait shop are already in a lethargic/half dead state?

4. centexcop

centexcop New Member

State:
    Texas
    i've used a couple that weren't going to survive being released. I used them as cut bait and did pretty well.

5. all_4_Flatcats

State:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Thanx Fellas,

These channels they sell are in pretty excellent condition and very lively.

The sizes only range from 3"-8" in length.

They sell them instead of Yellow Bellies due to Ohio State Law prohibiting the sell of Yellow Bellies.

They told me selling Yellow Bellies are considered an invasive species therefore illegal to sell in Ohio, I laughed my ass off and I told the guy as far as I know they are a native species.

If that was so, last year while fishing the Little Miami I had the game warden come up on me. Let point out he scared the shit out of me.