Question on baits

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by ar_confederate, Nov 14, 2005.

1. ar_confederate

ar_confederate New Member

State:
    Minden, Lo
    I'm relatively new to catfishing. This weekend, I was trotlining and tried 3 different baits. One was minnows, one was commercial stink bait (Catfish Charlies) and the last was fish innards. The only thing that we caught fish on were the minnows. I'm wondering if the commercial bait is any good at all. Has anyone had luck with it? I had one recommendation for Danny King's punch bait. If you've had luck with it, which flavor? Thanks.

2. TIM HAGAN

TIM HAGAN New Member

State:
    Walkersvil
    Danny king catfish punch bait blood has put loads of fish in my boat . I use it on all of my guide trips as a starter bait to put fish in the boat fast. And cut bait will do great shad,carp,bluegill and i do alot of mackerel .

3. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    IMO, when trotlining, you have to make a compromise between the bait's attractiveness to cats, other creatures, the bait's ability to stay on the hook a long time, and the frequency with which you check your trotlines.
    It's nice to have a bait that the catfish love, but what if other fish and turtles love it even more, and eat it off the hook so quickly that the cats don't really have a chance to eat it? That isn't so much of a factor if you're checking your lines every couple of hours, but if you are only checking them once a day, it could be extremely important. In that situation, I often use garlic flavored chitlings, salt pork, bacon, or even soap.