Question for Elk hunters

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting' started by Cathooker, Jun 10, 2007.

1. Cathooker

Cathooker New Member

State:
    Ga
    I am planning on an elk hunt to Colorado this fall. This is my first time to go. I am excited. My question is this. I have a Remington model 700 300 win mag that I plan to use and I am curious as to what bullet weight and style do you feel is best? I am thinking 180 grain nosler partition...what do you think.
    Thanks in advance.
    Alan

2. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    The 180gr Nosler partition is a good bullet for Elk in your 300 mag. I used 140 gr nosler partition in my 264 win mag for both Deer and Elk in colorado while I lived there. Dale

3. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC
    The partition is good but I would load the 180 Scirroco.Actually I used a 300 Weatherby for years in Colo and never needed anything more than a good 150gr.I have switched to the 7mm Ultramag and only use 160gr.Any good bullet will work as long as the shot placement is good.Take my advice get in shape.Most of your hunting is going to be above 7000ft and that is hard on you.I would spend a day or two at that altitude not doing much but getting aclimated.Drink plenty of water.Elk will disappear into the dark timber as soon as the seasons open so be prepared to go in after them.Those "Ideal"shots of big bulls grazing in open meadows are not reality.Elk will spook and not stop running for two counties unlike deer.Colo Wildlife officials figured out years ago that elk hunters kill an elk about once every 7-8 years and that includes cows etc.Success ratio is about 20% in a good year.The offset is you will be in gorgeous country,hunting a magnificent animal.WHere are you going in Colo?

4. pk_powell

pk_powell New Member

State:
    Missouri