question about draw length and such

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by switchback, Sep 9, 2008.

1. switchback

switchback New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I bought a 28 in draw switchback three years ago and love it and when i bought it i got a dozen goldtip ultralight 400s. Well i finally broke or lost all but one of them. Well with season coming up i went to my local shop and ordered arrows well thats when i reallized that my arrows are just under 27.5 inches long how is that when i have a 28 inch draw length. I think i have it figured out but ive been wrong before so i hope one of you might have the answer THANKS

2. THRowSOmeStink

THRowSOmeStink New Member

State:
    sedgwick, kansas
    Im not good with all this math stuff but it all depends on what kind of rest you have and how far back it is mounted. I have a 31 in draw and my arrows are 28 in. That is because i used to shoot an over draw and my brace hight was longer. When i bought my new bow they still work for that reason. Wish i could be more help. someone will probably be on here to better explain it for you.

3. switchback

switchback New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Well i shoot a whisker biscut and its mounted as far back as it can get so thats how i think i can get away with it. I noticed that if i want to shoot any real big broadheads or the gobbler guiotine that i will definately have to use longer arrows. My arrow sticks out of the whisker biscut about an inch and is still close enough that at full draw that with a bigger diameter broadhead would hit my riser.

4. Wil

Wil New Member

State:
    Minden Nebraska
    be careful where u put ur fingers.. dont wanna cut urself like i did a couple years ago.. ouch

5. ga2oh

ga2oh New Member

State:
    ohio
    It sounds like it's time to order longer arrows, and reset up your bow.

6. switchback

switchback New Member

State:
    Illinois