Quantum Optix 60 ---> HELP!!

Discussion in 'Reel Repair and Upgrades' started by flathead_ky, Jun 10, 2007.

1. flathead_ky

flathead_ky New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I normally use my abus, but the one Spinning reel I use for big cats is a Quantum Optix 60. I have caught some good fish on this reel and pair it with a 8' Ugly Stick cat rod. A few weekends ago, my reel wouldn't lock so I figured I might have flipped the switch where I can backreel, but no that wasn't it. I studied it and even took my spool off to see what was up. While reeling it in to change bait, I found a small keeper pin(I think?) in the part that rotates to collect the line. I have no ideal where this thing goes, but I am thinking that is is a keeper that locks the reel and must be near the anti-reverse switch on the bottom of the reel. I am going to take the handle off and take off the side plate. I have a pic of the reel and the keeper pin. If you guys know of any way to fix this I would appreciate it. I dont want to just quit using it and have it collect dust over a small piece and I just do not want to send it to Quantum and wait back and forth.

Attached Files:

2. flathead_ky

flathead_ky New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Thanks for the replies :big_smile:. I reinstalled the keeper pin on the shaft that runs through the piece that collects the line back on the spool when you reel it. It works great now and guess I will have to test it out this weekend.

3. knightcrawler003

knightcrawler003 New Member

State:
    california
    I am having a problem with my quantum optix 60 reel my anti-reverse wont work it does not lock I took it apart and found a keeper pin but I dont know where it goes can anyone help me with this please thanks. Sergio

4. monoxide

monoxide New Member

State:
    fl
    any pics on how u installed it?

5. Drisanna

Drisanna New Member

State:
    Maryland