Pyrodex pellets

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by kkyyoottee, Aug 19, 2007.

1. kkyyoottee

kkyyoottee New Member

State:
    Iowa
    3 pellets or 2 ? Has anyone tested their rifles and checked accuracy? My wife and I have identical rifles CVA's mine likes 3 fifty grainers and hers will only stay accurate with 2. Anyone else check?

2. Luke Clayton

Luke Clayton New Member

State:
    Texas
    Luke Clayton here. My good friend Larry Weishuhn gave me a formula a few years ago that works great in muzzleloaders that can handle 150 grain charges. Load with 3 fifty grain Pyrodex, or Triple 7 pellets, shoot it in 3 inches high at 100 yards. You can hold center of shoulder on deer size game out to 200 yards!
    This works, I've been using this charge for the past 3 years in my Omega. The new TC Triumps is a great smokepole. Been shooting one this summer and I really like it. By the way, I'm shooting 225 grain TC Shock Wave Sabots. I don't shoot anything but the sabots these days. They pack a major punch and I've taken a good many deer and hogs with this load. Hope this helps! Luke Clayton

3. samh

samh New Member

State:
    Damascus,Arkansas
    Just like any gun, different muzzleloaders will like different loads and bullets. I have a CVA Mag Hunter .45 cal. that loves 150 grains of pyrodex pellets (3 - 50 grain pellets), but if you put the same charge in it of Pyrodex powder it opens the groups up to twice the size of the pellets, if you drop back to 2 pellets, 100 grains, it also opens up the groups. It also doesn't like saboted bullets near as well as it shoots Power Belts. You just have to try different bullets and powders until you find a guns sweet spot.

4. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Name:
    your first name