Proud to be a Vet!!

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by bnewsom71, Sep 23, 2009.

1. bnewsom71

bnewsom71 New Member

State:
    Mathervill
    I am going to go on a little rant - I am trying to put my better half thru college and take care of 2 kids on my income alone, so needless to say, Money is very tight. So, being that I am a vet (served 5 years during Desert Storm era) and I have some medical issues that require a doctors care, I decided to apply for VA medical benifits. I just got a letter today stating that due to some changes in the "qualification standards" - I am not eligible for medical benefits. Are you kiddin' me! I am a vet and I know I deserve the right to medical insurance! Evidently I do not meet the "helpless" status that is required now. Thank you government for lowering the standards for eligibility! :angry: Every day it seems like I would be better of if I was an absolutely worthless human being - then I would be livin' pretty high on the hog, courtesy of the government. :angry: Anyway, thanks for reading my little fit! LOL

And for everyone that is on VA medical - I am not directing ANYTHING towards you at all!! I am glad you get the insurance. I just wish I could also get it.

I bet ya this gets sent to HI! Sorry:embarassed:

2. Eich

Eich New Member

State:
    Mount Joy,
    Check a little deeper. It is my understanding that the VA cannot refuse medical treatment so long as you do at least a yearly physical exam with them. Try going to the VA hospital and talking to a representative. Hope this helps.

Ray

3. bnewsom71

bnewsom71 New Member

State:
    Mathervill
    This letter states that they will not refuse to treat anyone - at standard medical care rates.

4. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla