Problem with my 6500c3

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by WaltonsMountain, Aug 28, 2009.

1. WaltonsMountain

WaltonsMountain New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    Let me start off by saying that i'm new to baitcasters. I have a Abu 6500c3. Tonight, at the end of the trip I got a snag. I tightened up my drag and my clutch all the way and I was still getting line slippage. Eventually had to cut the line because I had no traction. Is there something wrong w/ my baitcaster or am I just missing something...? :tounge_out:

All help is much appreciated.

2. screamnreels

screamnreels Member

State:
    Halifax county
    The drags on these reels are only and I may be wrong on the exact number but about 20 to 30 pounds. I have 20 of them and none of them will tighten to where you can't pull line straight off of them. You also don't want to store them for long periods of time with the drags tight as it doe damage to them.

3. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Nope, it should slip. All the drags on the bait casters slip at some point. Its doesn't take many pound of pull to do it...I think its in 13# of I'm not mistaken...The record reel is 13.5 so its the same or close.

Its better on the rod/reel to break the line using a rod or like I do, a leather glove.

4. CatHunterSteve

CatHunterSteve New Member

State:
    Snowville, Va
    If you are using braid it might be slipping on the spool if you didn't back up your braid with mono or tape of something. Just something to check if you think it is slipping prematurely, the only reason I say this is it happened to me with my 6600 BCX with braid, didn't back it up and the braid was slipping on the spool bad until I took it all off and backed it up with some mono.

5. sjohn58

sjohn58 Guest

First off Steve is right about the braid. Are you using the Braid your beat me out of on Ebay :crazy:
    JK
    The 6500C3 max drag force is 15lbs.