Presses - Progressives vs. Turrets

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by derbycitycatman, Mar 1, 2009.

1. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Ive been reloading with a single stage press for a few years and its been fine for my 06 and 44. I plan on starting on 9mm and increasing production on the 44 too.

Any of you guys have experience with the progressives and turret presses? Im sure the turrets are about the same as singles you just get to leave your dies in the turret and turn it for the die you want? I guess what IM asking is the price difference worth it for the progressive over the turrets? Thinking of pulling the trigger on the Hornady AP progressive press, has a coupon for 1000 bullets for $370 or so. THe turrets I could get for under $100.

2. jedimanhunter

jedimanhunter New Member

State:
    Texas
    I am looking at the Hornady ap as well. I am keeping my rockchucker for my rifle stuff. I may try the hornady on .223 but my fine tuned stuff is single stage and extra care to get them better than factory for my specific rifle.

Most of the prices on the bullet offer is off 100.00 or so from what hornady says they are worth. But so what, you can count on 20.00 per box on any of them if you go buy them. Sweet offer other wise I would be looking at the Dillon 550 or 650.

If nothing else they are trading stock. natchezz shooting supply has them @ 369.00 if I remember. They are out of them but they have a link to notify you when they come in if you want.

3. iabowhunter

iabowhunter New Member

State:
    South East Iowa
    I agree with Jeff.