Preparing turkeys

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by smhmc6, Mar 19, 2007.

1. smhmc6

smhmc6 Member

State:
    Kansas
    Hey guys, this spring will be my first turkey season. I've enjoyed deer hunting for a couple years and I decided I would try my hand at turkey hunting. I'm pretty excited about it, I've been practicing my calling pretty much daily for about 2 months. I'm getting fairly confident with my mouth call and all but thats not really what my question is about. A lot of people ask about calling techniques and different strategies but I haven't seen alot on preparing turkey's for the table. On just about every department of wildlife page there are brief descriptions of how to clean birds so I have a pretty good idea about the basics. I am planning on buying one of those turkey deep fryers here pretty soon so I want to pluck my bird (hopefully if i get one:tounge_out:). My question is, do any of you have any special tips or tricks you have learned with experience on the easiest way to pluck a turkey? Anything and everything would be very helpful, I really want to learn everything I can before I head out to the woods. I wouldn't feel like a responsible hunter if I didn't know everything I could. Thanks for all your responces and good luck on all your upcoming turkey seasons!

2. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky
    wild turkey is just that wild their legs and wings are so tough they are not worth the trouble to try to prepare your best bet is to split the skin on the breats and pull the white breast out like you would a dove only on a large version the breast is still deep fryable or cut into nuggets and thrown into the wok as i do for stir fry

3. huntsfromtree

huntsfromtree New Member

State:
    KC Northland