Power Pro with long Mono leader

Discussion in 'LOCAL SOUTH CAROLINA TALK' started by LOWCOUNTRY CATMAN, Aug 14, 2009.

1. LOWCOUNTRY CATMAN

LOWCOUNTRY CATMAN New Member

State:
    sc
    With my money being tight right now this will be down the road,but I think Im about to join the dark side.Im thinking 65lb on my 6500 with a long mono leader....best of both worlds...eh.
    And on my 9000...100lb with a very long mono leader....
    I have always been a mono guy and have been happy with it,but the other night hooking such a big fish made me start to thinkin about the capacity and maybe having that xtra line strength.I would never use it without the long mono out front,but as soon as I settle my camera issue I think Im gonna do it.

Bill.......you convinced me

2. Canadiancatman

Canadiancatman New Member

State:
    Manitoba Canada
    Kieth I have been using poer pro for the past 4 years now myself and like you I was hesitant at first. It didn't take long for me to realise that I love power pro!! I do most of my cattin from shore and i just wasn't getting the casting distance I needed with mono and it had too much stretch which meant alot of missed fish. With the braid my casting distace increased substantially and i could feel every bite as well as get solid hooksets at distance because of the no stretch. I found out a few things i needed to adjust right away.

1) I use a three way and inline slip rig's mostly three way and the leader to my hook is a 30-36" section of I prefer 30lb big game mono. I do this noy only to give a bit of stretch but also because mono wont slice your hands off like braid will when you grab the leader with a big fish on.
    With the inline rig i tie a 14-24" section of bg mono to my hook.

2) your going to have to back off your drag a bit so you don't snap your rod power pro is VERY strong line!!

3)If you get a bad snag get a heavy glove or wrap the line around something besides your hand it WILL slice you!!