Power Pro fishing line??

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by LadyValea1, Sep 8, 2006.

1. LadyValea1

LadyValea1 New Member

State:
    Fort Worth, Tex
    Hi. I'm still new to catfishing.. so I've got a lot of questions!
    I've been reading about power pro line. I mostly bank fish with a 7 ft pole ...I'm getting a Garcia Baitcaster that I prolly get all birdnesty and stuff!!!

any sites that have videos on baitcasters and how to use them ??

anyway, whats the deal with using mono line first on the reel? and do I still use the power pro for the leader?

does power pro really feel different? thanks

2. PeZ

PeZ New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    i use cajun red 20# mono works great i refuse to pay 9 dollars for 150 yards of line

3. sgt_rob

sgt_rob Member

State:
    Bossier City, LA
    Tina, you spool some mono on first because the braided line is slick and will spin on the spool. Mono will cinch down on the spool if the right knot is used and won't spin.

4. LadyValea1

LadyValea1 New Member

State:
    Fort Worth, Tex
    I use a three-way swivel rig... should I use the same power pro on the leader for the hook ? and a light weight mono line for the bell sinker?

Is this power pro worth the trouble? ie. knots

5. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    If you are new to baitcasters, I suggest that you first learn to cast with mono on the reel. For one thing, its cheaper and if you get a really bad birdnest and need to cut it out, you aren't out much money, maybe $5 if you have the line spooled at the sporting goods store, less if you buy a big spool of Big Game. During the learning period, it may be a good idea to not use line size much greater than 15 lb if using mono. Its easier to handle.