Pouring Lead

Discussion in 'Misc Fishing Tackle Talk' started by pythonjohn, Feb 20, 2007.

1. pythonjohn

pythonjohn New Member Supporting Member

State:
    F L A Swamps
    When you make your leads what type pot do you use to melt the lead and what kind of ladel for pouring the lead do you use?
    What the easiest and most simple way to do it?

2. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
    my sinker making equiptment includes a hotplate, iron skillet, ladel, pliers, spoon, file, gloves all from wallmart.... and molds not from wallmart

3. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    You can use either cast iron or stainless. I use cast that I bought at yard sales. Course I am still learning how to do it myself.:tounge_out:

4. curdog

curdog New Member

State:
    Sheridan, Arkansas
    In the BOC library Whistler posts a lot of how to things about lead and sinker making. One was using metal spoons as molds for flat sinkers heaver the weight bigger the spoon.

5. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky
    i believe vern uses a half gallon cast iron pot and a cast iron spoon on an electric stove out back of his shed he says its best to leave a 1" of lead in the pot at all times for melting quicker .

6. olefin

olefin New Member

State:
    Texas
    John,

I have used a Lee furnace for about 35 years or so to melt lead bars for sinkers and bullets. Here is a picture of my setup.

Many years ago I got several buckets of old wheel weights and melted them with and old propane stove and one of my wifes old pans. I had several hundred pounds of 1 pound bars. I gave away over 200 pounds at the last BOC Gathering for I don't use as much any more.

It's best not to breath the fumes when melting lead.. just have plenty fresh air. Also be careful not get a drop of water in the melted lead... it will explode! I never did but I was exposed for I dropped bullets direct from the hot mold into cold water to temper them.