Pomona Lake

Discussion in 'KANSAS LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by goingfishin, Mar 16, 2008.

1. goingfishin

goingfishin New Member

State:
    Topeka, Ka
    Ok, as requested by a friend here it is. Lets talk Pomona!!! I read that last year Pomona was ranked #10 in the NATION for amount and size of flathead. I'm not much of a flathead fisherman but that makes me think should throw some live bait into the water during tournament hours or should I do what I know best. This is only my second season for tournaments but I fished 8 of them last year and only saw 2 flatheads at weigh-in and that was at a river tournament.

2. kuhlcat

kuhlcat New Member

State:
    kansas
    i wouldn't waste my time unless it was a night tournament. i've been fishing tournaments since 2000 and i lost track of how many that is but i can tell you that the channel cat will win a tournament most of the time especially on march 29th. pomona is alot like clinton you have to catch a large number of little ones and you will pick up a couple of better fish as you go along. i just don't think the flathead bite will be turned on to much this time of year. i think most of the guys who are catching flatheads are setting lines and that is in late spring thoughout the summer months. i can't fish the tournament but if i was i would spend most of the day up in the dragon creek area and fish the shallow stumps and willow trees on the windy side of the lake. they had a good shad kill this year like clinton so load up on shad and tear them up.

3. KC Jayhawk 78

KC Jayhawk 78 New Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ks