Please Help!

Discussion in 'Bass Fishing' started by veryama1975, Mar 6, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    I'm pretty new to baitcasting. I just got my abu 6000 about a month or two ago. I've gotten pretty good with it while using 20lb mono & a 1 ounce sinker. I still get a few backlashes but not very often.

However, I've recently been thinking that I might like to try using my abu for lures as well as just using it for regular catfishing. I bought a 1/4 ounce practice plug & took it out to try it. I had the worst backlash I've ever had. I did adjust the cast control but it didn't seem to do any good. I then tried to use 12lb line in hopes that the lighter line might make the difference with the light practice plug so that I wouldn't get the backlash. It didn't do any good.

My question is: Is a 1/4 ounce lure or practice plug just too light for an abu 6000 regardless of what size line I use with it? If I want to use my baitcaster for artificials am I just going to have to only use much heavier lures?

Any help with this problem would be much appreciated.

2. whisker maniac

whisker maniac New Member

State:
    arkansas
    besides adjusting the magnetic casting control you need to adjust the freespool knob which is just below the star drag. To set it push your cast button and watch your lure. If the lue starts falling quickly you need to tighten the knob. You want the lure to just barely start falling toward the ground. The magnetic control will not control your freespool by itself but adds a little extra to help keep from backlashes and over spins. Also when you cast don't keep your wrist vertical. Turn it over when you cast kinda like throwin a ball. Hope this helps.

3. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia