Please help: baitcasting lure question

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by veryama1975, Mar 6, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    I'm pretty new to baitcasting. I just got my abu 6000 about a month or two ago. I've gotten pretty good with it while using 20lb mono & a 1 ounce sinker. I still get a few backlashes but not very often.

However, I've recently been thinking that I might like to try using my abu for lures as well as just using it for regular catfishing. I bought a 1/4 ounce practice plug & took it out to try it. I had the worst backlash I've ever had. I did adjust the cast control but it didn't seem to do any good. I then tried to use 12lb line in hopes that the lighter line might make the difference with the light practice plug so that I wouldn't get the backlash. It didn't do any good.

My question is: Is a 1/4 ounce lure or practice plug just too light for an abu 6000 regardless of what size line I use with it? If I want to use my baitcaster for artificials am I just going to have to only use much heavier lures?

Any help with this problem would be much appreciated.

2. caneycat

caneycat New Member

State:
    Texas
    I have a abu 6000 and I have 15 lb big game on it with a 1 ounce sinker and I have tried to do the same thing by trying to cast a scum frog, I do not know what it weight it is I would guess 1/4 ounce and all I had to do was tight in the cast control up and it worked for me. It just takes time.

3. CATFISHERMAN001

CATFISHERMAN001 New Member

State:
    ALABAMA