Pictoral question

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by CatHunterSteve, Jun 23, 2009.

1. CatHunterSteve

CatHunterSteve New Member

State:
    Snowville, Va
    Being a newbie I have read several post about the structure flathead prefer to hang out in and around or under. Attached are some pictures I took this past week-end on the upper New River in Virginia that I think looks like the type of structure people are describing when they describe the kind of structure flatheads prefer. My questions are:

• As you may be able to see from the pictures this laydown has a bunch of trash floating on the surface that shelters an area of the surface immediately up against the exposed portion of the laydown to about 10-15 feet upstream of the lay down. When targeting for flatheads should I target the bottom under the upstream edge of the trash or under that trash downstream where the actual laydown meets the bottom of the river?
    • Would anchoring below the laydown and fishing the downstream edge of the laydown be a consideration?
    • If I anchored upstream in this situation, is there a way to “walk or slide” the bait under this type of trash to get in closer to the laydown itself.
    Any comments would be appreciated, even if it’s to say I don’t have a clue what I am talking about. Hope the pictures are clear enough to see the trash...

Attached Files:

2. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member