Pickwick Info

Discussion in 'TENNESSEE LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Lakeview, May 12, 2006.

1. Lakeview

Lakeview New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I am new member and new to serious catfishing. I was planning a trip to pickwick near the end of May. I told a friend about this and they said I should try for catfish. I started studying the subject and am now totally obsessed. I bought a couple of books and have been searching for as much info as I can find. I will be staying at the Inn at pickwick landing. I have heard that I can catch blue cats on the opposite side of the lake by drift fishing. Can anyone give me more info on this? What kind of bait works best, how deep, and where to fish? Should I use a bobber? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the help!

2. Whistler

Whistler Well-Known Member

State:
    TN
    We got a couple of members that live within spittin distance of the dam. Some fair to good fishing down there. Right now Shilohred is camping at the campground below the dam. When he gets back on here, I'm sure he'll fill you in on lot's of good info.

3. Lakeview

Lakeview New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Thanks whistler! It was Shilored that first planted this catfish thing in my head. I was on a crappie sight and asked about pickwick and he suggested catfish. I then talked to a friend that fishes there a little and he had heard great things about catfish at pickwick. It sounds like a lot of fun and can't wait to try it. Glad to be aboard and am looking frward to learning from you guys.

4. TNVOLCAT

TNVOLCAT New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    First of all Matt, welcome to the BOC, glad you found us! Well, Whistler beat me to it, but I was gonna tell you to contact Shilohred, he's a member of the BOC and lives in the area and fishes it often. He can definately hook you up with some tips and locations for fish.