Percy Priest/Old Hickory

Discussion in 'TENNESSEE LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Catfishnewbie08, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Catfishnewbie08

Catfishnewbie08 New Member

State:
    TN
    Hey guys,

I moved to La Vergne, from WI two years ago, so I'm not real familiar with Old Hickory and Percy Priest Lakes. I took up catfishing this summer and fell in love with it. I'm still learning as I go. I've been catching 8-10 lb Channel cats out of Percy on cut shad from the bank in the Jefferson Springs Recreation area.

I was just wondering if anyone knows any other good spots for good sized catfished from shore (since I don't have a boat) on these two lakes. I'd like to catch my first blue or flathead. All I've been catching is Channels. I also wouldn't mind finding someone to fish with and learn more about the catfishing game! Also any additional advice on improving my chances of catching that big one would greatly be appreciated!

2. LiveWire

LiveWire New Member

State:
    LaVergne, Tennessee
    Catfishnewbie08,
    I just moved to LaVergne this past January. However, I didnt make quite as big of a move as you, I only moved from Columbia, about an hour south of LaVergne. There's not many options for fishing down that way, so I'm still getting used to Priest lake and the Stones river areas. I love to catfish but am not very good at it, lol. I need to get better at locating them. I fish mostly from the bank but I do have a little old 12 ft jon boat I take out from time to time. I fished the Jefferson Springs area last Saturday night with no luck. Maybe I need to get with you and we can learn how to find em around here, lol. Do you catch your own shad or buy it? Thats somethin I need to do better at also, I need to put down the grocery store baits and start using fresh stuff. My name's Nate by the way.

3. tntitans21399

tntitans21399 New Member

State:
    Tennessee