Percy Priest Bank Fishing For Catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by MrWhiskers21, Sep 13, 2009.

1. MrWhiskers21

MrWhiskers21 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I am new to the middle tennessee area. Having come from western Virginia originally, I am used to rivers and streams but am lost on the big reservoirs in our area. I dont have a boat yet and therefore I am confined to the bank. I have tried most of the public access points for catfish, using many different baits, and havent even gotten a bite yet. I had great success on the rivers back home and I understand the differences in tackle and technique between a river and a lake. I cannot figure out what is going wrong. Any suggestions regarding location, time of day, bait, where to present bait in the water column, or anything else would be greatly appreciated. I am not focused on huge fish either, a half dozen pan sized catfish would be perfect but i cant even seem to get to that point yet. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

2. lforet2002

lforet2002 Well-Known Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Get your hands on some skipjack..May try to get some down at Percy dam..Throw a jig with a twister tale and they should nail it..Cut em up and use for bait..I can't help you on bank spots on the Priest as I'm an out of towner too and haven't fished much on the Priest..Right now cattin has been slow..I've been fishing Old Hick and haven't caught much at all..I think right now you have to find some deep water..Maybe when the fall comes around and the temps start to drop they'll move back into the shallow water..The best cattin happens @ night..Hopefully someone will come around and give us some pointers on where to bank fish on the Priest..I think Greasyham fishes the Priest sometimes maybe he can fill us in..

3. bdporch

bdporch New Member

State:
    tennessee