Penn Reel

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Stlnifr, Nov 21, 2006.

1. Stlnifr

Stlnifr New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I am new here to this forum board and feel I came to the right place for answers to cat fishing questions. I need info on the Penn 320 gt2 I mainly fish abu's 5500 c and c3's. But am looking for something that will pull the big boys "20 lbs and up" out with ease. I have been thinking ABU 6500 C3 but also am considering a Penn 320 GT2. I know the penn weights more than a 5500 but it is not like I am going to be Bass fishing casting and retrieving. Now I will concede that I am not an expert at catching catfish but have caught my share from small ones up to a 57 lb flathead. I fish mostly in rivers here in South Carolina --- wateree, congaree and the santee. For years in the santee but now spend more time on the wateree. Any time I catch a fish I consider it luck. Thanks in advance for any replys.

George

2. GoFish_Tony

GoFish_Tony New Member

State:
    Big Rock, IL
    Your right about one thing, you came to the right place.
    Welcome aboard George!!

_

3. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I am also looking at the Penn for my next set-up. But I am looking at the 321GTi (it's the same thing but for wrong handed folks like me). I have another Penn that I really like but I use that mostly for deep jigging Macs and trolling. I also a couple of Abu Garcias. They are smooth casting machines, but if you don't need to cast at all, I think the Penn would serve you quite well.

However, all I have at this point is data from reviews and tech sheet info on that Penn. But, from what I have read so far, it looks like a reel that would more than adaquately handle just about any sized catfish.

Great question ! I'll be looking forward to reading the responses from people here that may have used them.

4. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky