Penn 310GTI vs. Ambassador 7000

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by birdnest, Feb 7, 2006.

1. birdnest

birdnest New Member

Looking for some friendly advice.
    Not new to fishing, but don't have any serious experience chasing BIG Cats yet. Caught my share of In-Shore species in the salt,and I have a fancy for chasing big fish in my kayak and taking a Nantucket sleigh ride. I've yet to break the 20 lb mark with cats. Red fish, etc., that another story, but I digress.... Anyway, I have an Ambassador 5600, 6500, Penn 310 GTI, and Penn 5500SS, But I am torn between using a match set of the 310GTI's or trying the ABU 7000. There ain't enough price difference to spit at, but I'm interested in the finer points concerning these two reels.
    Also.....
    I hear a lot about the braided and superlines. Pro's and Con's. I've tried and really like the Berkly Transition in 17# on my 5600-C4 which is a flouricarbon, but I am really interested in the braids. Am I best to stick with the old tried and true mono in the 30# range because of the line stretch? If any of ya'll are using the braids or fused lines for big cats, what do you like?, Is it true it eats up the rod guides? I have yet to see these newer lines offered in packages bigger than you'd load on a 3000 series bass rod (~130 yds). With 50# line in 10# dia. that sounds like a pretty naked looking spool. You sacrifice a lot of casting distance if you don't keep a full spool. Do you load 2 packages on the spool? What knot do you use to tie the lines together if you do?
    What knot do you use for terminal tackle? Are you using mono leader? If you get hung on the bottom are you pretty much screwed?