penn 209 levelwind

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by jboy434, Nov 3, 2007.

1. jboy434

jboy434 New Member

State:
    va
    what do you guys think of these reels? I got one today but i have never used a penn before. How can i tell how old the reel is?

thanks

2. Katfishing Cajun

Katfishing Cajun New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Jeremy I just sold all my abu 6000's to replace with Penn 209's and 9's. Nothing wrong with the 6000's, they just don't have the gearing a Penn has. I know someone who you can get a hold of if you have any questions on the older Penn reels. Try doing a search of Chef Jim Penn reels, great guy to talk to. And he's been rebuilding Penn's since 1960.

3. badkarma

badkarma New Member

State:
    Oxford,Miss
    Jeremy I have a 209 I bought when I was 18 and I'm 55 now and it's still the best reel I ever ownd.

4. jason454ci

jason454ci Active Member

State:
    Zanesville, Ohi
    Casting distance leaves a little to be desired. But over all you can't go wrong with a 209. They are great for battling with big fish. And will hold up for many years.

5. PhillyCatcatcher4

PhillyCatcatcher4 New Member

State:
    S.W.Phila.,Penn.
    I own a lefthanded 209. It is a great saltwater reel. :wink:

6. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    Not the best reel for casting long distances, but other than that, it's a great reel for not much money. One of the best values you'll find. If you need long distance casting, move up to the 320GTi or GT2.

7. jboy434

jboy434 New Member

State:
    va
    Thanks for all the replies. I got the reel for free so it was a great price. It had been sitting outside for a while. I will have to take it apart and clean it good.Any recommendations on a good rod for this reel that wont break the bank.

thanks

8. russ

russ New Member

State:
    dexter. mo