Owning a bait shop???

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by RiverKing, Jun 16, 2007.

1. RiverKing

RiverKing Active Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    There is a pretty well established bait shop around where I live. It has been in business for as long as i can remember. And they sort of cater to catfisherman. Anyways, the old man that owns it is retiring, and I got a call from a friend last night that is interested in buying it together. My question is, do you think you can make a decent living running/owning a bait shop, or do you think you would just barely get by? The idea of it is exciting, and sounds cool, but i have a decent/stable job that I would have to quit. Its sort of scary rolling the dice with your future. What is everyones advise, or opinions on something like this. I know any bussiness is a gamble, it just sort of scary to me.

2. gcarlin

gcarlin New Member

State:
    Richmond ,Indiana
    BEING A BUSINESS OWNER MYSELF,YES IT'S A RISK BUT IT'S ALSO DEPENDS ON THE QUALITY OF SERVICE AND KNOWLEDGE OF THE BUSINESS THAT YOU RUN AND OPERATE. YES IT'S A BIG STEP AND IS VERY VERY COSTLY BUT WITH ANYTHING ,AS LONG AS YOU GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT AND NEED THEN THE BUSINESS WILL DO WELL. GOOD LUCK AND KEEP US ALL INFORMED.

3. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA
    I have a cousin in michigan that bought a bait shop that had been there for years and he made it better!!!! Just go in there and check it out for your self and talk to the customers and ask them what they would like to see and let them know some of the new ideas you have for the store. and remember bass pro shop and others started out with a dream and a prayer if you give them what they want and need they will be back.

HOPE THIS HELPS YA OUT A LIL BRO!!!!!

4. CNTRYBOY

CNTRYBOY New Member

State:
    Benton, Ar
    i WOULD GIVE IT A SHOT, BUT NOT SURE ABOUT DITCHING MY STEADY JOB RIGHT OFF THE BAT!

5. TOPS

TOPS New Member

State:
    Cabot,Arkansas