Okuma Classic Pro CL 302L( I need help)

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by kmcalester, Feb 15, 2008.

1. kmcalester

kmcalester Active Member

State:
    Kansas City
    I just purchase four of these online for a steal of a deal I couldn't pass up Less than $30 bucks with shipping . I have never used bait casters before. What kind of line should I spool this babies with.

Would greatly appreciate all you knowledge on these, how do you cast these things, I have a Abu 4500 with a button, I don't even see a button to release the the line on these.

I have a ugly stick for one, what kinda rod should I get for the other 3.

2. Reel_Blues

Reel_Blues New Member

State:
    Virginia
    Kevin can you post some pics of them not sure what you have there.

3. getthenet

getthenet New Member

State:
    ohio
    i use the same reels line release is the lever on the side flip it down for free spool and up to engage reel i use 40lb test big game line but if you are going after channels then i would go with 25lb big game line.there is also a tension knob on the side of the reel that adjust your tension for line out

4. stone

stone New Member

State:
    CA
    hi i have never owned this model. however from what i see, theres a lever to the right that you pull towards you to disengage the pinion to cast. depending on the design, it can be either auto engaging or manual, I am guessing manual. after casting you flick the lever back to engage the gear. It looks like its without brake blocks so you may have to adjust the side caps to cast if its too fast. hope this helps.

5. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil
  6. kmcalester

kmcalester Active Member

State:
    Kansas City
    I got the line added this weekend, soon has I put a 5 oz weight on there the line just unwinds, I can even practice casting it.

7. kmcalester

kmcalester Active Member

State:
    Kansas City
    I hope to get some practice this weekend.

8. kmcalester

kmcalester Active Member