Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner

Okay, what is next

4K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  shotgunner 
#1 ·
I am just getting started in reloading and am definitely confused. I purchase a Lee Turret Press (still in the mail), dies for the hand guns I want to reload for, primers, bullets and new cases. But I no idea as to what powder I need. I was quite shocked to learn there is powder for rifles, handguns and shotguns. Do they have a "one size fits all" in powder? I intend to rel0ad .41 Magnum and .357 Magnum. Does anyone have a suggestion as to what powder I need for basic plinking and self defense?

#2 ·
Personally I like Accurate powers and there is no one powders does it all......some come close but no cigar..LOL. Accurate has four pistol powders #2, #5 #7 and #9 with #2 having the fastest burn rate. I load .357 and .44 mag using #9 which is the slowest burning and it works well for both. I use #5 for .38 spl and 9mm. All the Accurate powders meter extremely well so you get good Consistency when loading. As a matter of fact I was just sitting here in my shop today working up some 9mm +p loads using #5 when I saw your post. I'm sure others have their favorites because there are a lot of different types of powder out there I've tried most of them but not all.

#5 ·
Surely need to get a few good reloading manuals, I'm not much help at pistol reloading, do a little rifle reloading. There are books that will help alot and plenty of reloading manuals out there to help you with the charges you will need for certain bullets, including case length and seating depth which are really important.

#6 ·
#7 ·