ohio river question

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by rcbbracing, Jun 25, 2009.

1. rcbbracing

rcbbracing New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Okay we are going down to hit the ohio river....matt, skip, and will are pretty into the idea BUT its a three hours drive for me and ive got a few concerns....I was always told that fluctuating river levels would mess up the catfish feeding...is this true? The river is supposed to drop two feet by saturday when we are going but is still above the pool level....think this will be alright?Ive never been there and dont wanna waste the gas if i can help it....thanks!

2. CatHunter24

CatHunter24 New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio
    I think T Bull and I are going out tomorrow night...when ya coming down and maybe we can let ya know how they are feeding. I am not an expert as I have just started fishing the river, and can't say much about the fluctuating levels effecting the bite. I suspect, however, that the blues should be or already are coming off the nest and should be biting, at least i am hoping. If you are that concerned about the water level dropping and not getting action, maybe the dam would produce if there is little or no current. Hope this helps, good luck.

3. tbull

tbull New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    This season (Spring-Early Summer), the river has really never had a chance to stabilize much. I see it in the winter alot, where the fishing will tend to heat up some when the river comes up, but thats because most of the time its at pool or close to it. In the last few months the river has constantly been up and down, and to be honest I have caught more fish on the drop for some strange reason. That being said, I dont think the river levels have a dang thing to do with the bite the past couple months. Up and down and repeat...lol