Ohio River Info

Discussion in 'LOCAL PENNSYLVANIA TALK' started by WhiskerWacker, Jun 1, 2008.

1. WhiskerWacker

WhiskerWacker Active Member

State:
    Pa
    I have lived here in Pittsburgh my whole life. I have been fishing catfish for more than ten years here on the Ohio and surrounding rivers. The year for flatheads for me seems to start up around the first day of trout which was the second saturday in april. This year my first flathead was caught on april 21, he measured 40" and 30# I was channel cat fishing with small cut bait, as soon as I set the hook I knew this was no channel catfish. Not a bad start to the year. I ended up losing about 3 other fish that night right around the same size. Since then I found a new spot above the Emsworth dam, it is a deep hole with concrete walls sticking out into the river. Off to the down river side of that is a nice sized log jam in about 7 feet of water all the way to the shore. I managed to catch 6 fish over 40" in the matter of a couple days the biggest being 43" and 36# I also caught an average of 25 flats per day ranging from 17" to 30" and a few in the 30's. One day I caught a 40" and a 41" five minutes apart. ALL ON CUTBAIT. The fish would not eat a live fish no matter what I tried they fish were all on cutbait. Just this last week the fish have moved out of that deep hole and out onto the flat way out in the river, my fish numbers dropped dramatically. Also the sive of the average fish I catch has also dropped to about 25" compared to around 32". I have switch one of my rods over to live bait with sometimes better results. I have also moved from the wintering holes were I have crushed fish in the last month. I have tried closer to the cover thinkink the might be looking for the spawning sites, with no luck. I have also tried to go to the dams, fish in close and out deep, also with not much luck. About a week ago I caught a female that was spitting eggs out, I thought this was strange. It seems early for the spa