Ohio River, Cannelton Dam - 15 pound + Catfish

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by John Jennings, Nov 7, 2008.

1. John Jennings

John Jennings New Member

State:
    kentucky
    I have been fishing the Cannelton dam now for about 4 years. I am a member of the U.S Army and by no means an expert at catfishing! I have been fishing my entire life since I was about 5 years old and I can say that I can spend everyday for the rest of my life on the water! Cannelton started out as a challenge for me trying to fish the rock pile by gate #1. I have lost a lot of tackle and caught few fish, however this all changed a few weeks ago when I bought my first boat " Tracker ProGuide V17 ". Since my latest investment we have been killing the Blues. We catch 6-12 inch SkipJacks in the current and rips coming out of the dam and throw whole or cut right up into the boils. This takes about 10 minutes and the rod is bending over the side"fish on!" We are catching on average 15-20 pounders with the occasional HAWG going 30-40! With the action at Cannelton I can't see myself going anywhere else for complete non stop action!! I am always open for tips and suggestions from you more senior veterans of the ohio river so please feel free to help me out and good luck out there!!!!

John Jennings

2. John Jennings

John Jennings New Member

State:
    kentucky
    If anyone has any information on some tournaments or where I can find a tournament calendar please let me know!!

Thank You,
    Fish On!!

3. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    There are lots of tournaments in that area, just cruise thru the tournament link on the home page.

Welcome to the BOC,this site is full of good info and great people

4. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    John,
    Welcome to the BOC, thank you for your service and congratulations on finding a "formula" for Cannelton...W

5. crazyKat

crazyKat New Member

State: