Of faith, hope, and getting ready to die...

Discussion in 'Prayer Request' started by jeremiad, Jun 24, 2008.

1. jeremiad

jeremiad Well-Known Member

Name:
    Unspecified
    As a pastor, I can truly say that one of the most difficult jobs is hospital visitation--visiting with people who are in really bad shape. I always grapple with the tough question, "Do I give them hope against hope that God will heal them, or do I concentrate on getting them ready to die?"

Both priorities are crucial to the visiting pastor, but both seem to conflict.

Both priorities seem to conflict, but I have found that they both really are one and the same. Give people hope and they will be ready for anything. This is not a vain hope, but one deeply rooted in faith.

I have learned not to ask, "Are you ready to die?" but rather, "Are you ready to live?"

Hope looks toward an unbounded future. Faith reaches toward an everlasting future.

Some of you have loved ones that are in bad shape. Their time here is limited. Give them hope. You just might be surprised what God can do!

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I could not agree more, thanks for the post. I have just recently experienced something like this with the loss of one of my soldiers in Iraq.

3. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    Thanks for the post, I wish we had a pastor or priest like you when my mother was in the nursing home!! The priest was so worried about the donation & that we woke him up at 4 O'clock in the morning to come down!!:angry:

4. oh no

oh no New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Hope for the Future, that is important. We all have a Future whether we are Alive or Dead.

On healing, I don't know. You just don't know what God has in Mind. I have prayed alot to be healthy. That didn't work. So is my health my fault,[probably] my healing or not healing my fault [probably too] ?? Do we try to Blame God. I think not.