Nylons - does it hurt catfish if they swallow it?

Discussion in 'Homemade baits' started by playinghooky, Sep 8, 2005.

1. playinghooky

playinghooky New Member

State:
    north carolina
    this is a 2 parter does the nylons stocking hurt the fish if swallowed.me and my dad we talking about grinding chickenlivers and shad freezing them in a ice tray when frozen wrap in nylon stockings to keep together

2. master_cat

master_cat New Member

State:
    tennessee
    i always seem to get the nylon back just make sure u hook the stocking real good

3. LilRyjoe04

LilRyjoe04 New Member

State:
    Indianapolis,Indiana
    I've never tried that before, but what I usually do is sun cure my livers and then wrap them with thread to make sure I don't get robbed. Good Luck Guys!

4. centralcalcat

centralcalcat New Member

State:
    Marion, TX
    I have tried nylon before, but I prefer to use just plain old thread. i do no tcure my liver at all, just buy it form the store wrap about an 18" piece of thread around and cast. It has always worked out well, small cats have a difficult stealing it and I have never had any fall of during the cast.

-Brian

5. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC
    The nylon shouldn't hurt the fish but most of the time you will get it back.If you plan on using "Nylons" as in the kind your female compadre wears then buy new ones as they won't have any associated scent to then.

6. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    I use cheesecloth instead of nylon - the cheesecloth deteriorates quicker if it somehow is left in the water, I think. As far as the catfish, if they can get rid of a belly full of mussel shells, surely they can get rid of a wad of nylon.

7. CDM243

CDM243 New Member