NY catfishermen

Discussion in 'LOCAL NEW YORK TALK' started by cathouse, Jan 24, 2009.

1. cathouse

cathouse New Member

State:
    NY
    Hello all i am more or less looking for catters around upstate NY area rochester , syracues , buffalo or most places within a 2 hour drive or so to possibly hook up with when cattin season starts around here . PM me post on the local New York section or somethig , with all our members someone has to be in my part of the state . Or maybe i should just relocate LOL , or am i really joking awaiting a respomse .

Yours truly
    Lonely catter LOL

2. azuredge

azuredge New Member

State:
    NY
    Is there anyone from the Albany area? I am 45 minutes west of it. I see posts from people out in the western part. I am new to catfish, but I have gone for big fish in the past, such as salmon and stripers. I would really love to hook into a nice big, fat catfish. lol
    -Paul-

3. jolie

jolie New Member

State:
    PA
    Well, I'm not exactly In NY and live in Northwestern PA. I am considering getting a NY license and targeting cats in the Upper Alleghany River.

The alleghany River which is very good flathead and channel catfishing near the three rivers of pittsburgh; starts in PA and heads North. It was turned many thousands of years by the glaciers around to head south to form the Ohio river (which actually was built from an ancient river that flowed from WVA to the plains.

The town of Olean, NY is near the furthest northern point. at some point, the alleghany flows into the seneca reservation of southwestern NY. That requires a separate License. I figure the flats are completely upsent above the dam and aren't present in NY waters-- but the cats should be their. local rumors put the cats of the kinzua dam up to 15# on occasion- and conditions are as good upstream.