Northern Ky/Florence Area

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by TheRegulator, May 22, 2009.

1. TheRegulator

TheRegulator New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    You guys that are up here in Northern Ky fishing the river, where are you fishing at? I am new to the whole river thing, just got a boat. I have been out a few times on the river to no avail. I have been putting on at Trixie's marina, I have been out on the main river back on Gunpowder creek and Big bone creek. I don't know whether to fish the main bodies or fish the tributaries. What should I use for bait. I like to catch anything and everything, so Anything would be nice right now. I realize the water has been high'moving/ and muddy, and I assume has a lot to do with it but any help would be appreciated.:big_smile:

Thanks
    Mike

2. bnt55

bnt55 New Member

State:
    Northern KY
    Use shad and follow the methods laid out on this site and you will get into them. Fish lots of cover and transition spots in the river bed. I am fishing big bone tomorrow I'll post up my results.

3. TheRegulator

TheRegulator New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Thanks for the response, let me know how you did. I am going to put the boat on today and horse around a little. Won't do much fishing today though.:eek:oooh: I have a cast net, are you just netting the shad? Can you take bait or does it have to be caught on the river to fish it?

4. bnt55

bnt55 New Member

State:
    Northern KY
    you can do what you think is best but I usually will just net my bait the same day as fishing. I went on the river yesterday and it sucked pretty badly, the guys I went with wanted to bass fish and crappie fish and that just wasnt happening so I only got about 30 min of catfishing in. Good Luck

5. TheRegulator

TheRegulator New Member

State:
    Kentucky