noodling

Discussion in 'LOCAL OKLAHOMA TALK' started by mtrimble, Oct 21, 2005.

1. mtrimble

mtrimble New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I thought that a section on noodling would be appropriate here. Ive been noodling in the early summer for a few years now. In that time ive found certain types of sticks are better than others for checking holes. A straight stiff and water logged stick seems to be the best. What are some of the techniques you guys use?
    > Do you worry about over-harvesting? I began to worry about that this year and started leaving alot of the monsters alone. Whats the deal with noodling channels being illegal? It seems the put up a much more viscious fight for their size. Also, channels are not the top level predators like flatheads are so it seems like noodling them wouldnt be as harmful to a stream ecosystem and what not. In my opinion the state needs to start stocking flatheads.
    > Anybody had much luck noodling in or under log jams? What other types of habitat (rocks ect) and conditions do you look for and what conditions do you avoid? I once noodled for a few hours in very stagnant water and ended up with an infection in my nipple and my cousin ended with an infection in his ear or something.
    > My cousin and I thought it might be a good idea to start bringing a long rubber hose with us in case we ever get pinned down under the water. Then we could still have oxygen. Do any of you guys use such safety measures? > Also, what are some of the strange encounters you guys have had with other animals? Beavers, snakes, turtles cows.
    That ought to be enough to get a discussion started.

2. willisjj

willisjj Guest