Noodling in Alabama

Discussion in 'LOCAL ALABAMA TALK' started by creighton, Feb 2, 2008.

1. creighton

creighton New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I live in the Birmingham area and was wantin' to try my hand at noodling. I've never tried it before but it looks really fun. Do any of y'all know where the best spot for a beginner to try would be?

Thanks,
    Creighton

2. getbit

getbit New Member

State:
    Mississippi
    We go at Pickwick every weekend, I can't wait for season to open this year! One place is really as good as the other, we build our own boxes but you can find boat ramps, submerged logs, or just holes in the bank and get after it or GETBIT! We have alot of beginners/family that go but we really don't like to give up the location of our boxes to just anyone! I will not run anything out of the water though, snakes or turtles have to breathe if its underwater you don't have to worry bout them!

3. creighton

creighton New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I've never heard of pickwick. How far is Pickwick from Birmingham? Would somewhere along the Cahaba work? I live right by it. I don't think I'm going to build boxes. I'm too lazy for that. What time of year is best for it in Bama? Do you have any tips for a noob?

4. getbit

getbit New Member

State:
    Mississippi
    It is in the very Northwest Corner of Alabama, it is part of the Tennesee River! I don't know where Cahaba is! There is a season, usually May 1 to August 15, I haven't checked for this year yet. the best time of year for us usually is around the Fourth of July! Only thing that I know to tell ya is block the hole real good or he will come out, get you a stick to work him around, never try to bring him out anyway except by the mouth, and hold on for all you have!!:big_smile:

5. bluekatz

bluekatz New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I've found all the resevoirs on the Coosa are pretty good ... not so much on the Talapoosa.