Noodles and Jugs (help?)

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by CatCannon23, Jun 15, 2009.

1. CatCannon23

CatCannon23 New Member

State:
    kenutcky
    i have recently taken up the art of noodling and jugging. took sum half ince pvc pipe, and pvc pipe caps and swimming noodles and made me 30 noodles. i put 1 ounce wieght on them and fished them at diff. depths from a foot to 6 feet. i am using 4/0 and 2/0 kahle circle hooks. i threw them out in a cove n taylorsville lake last night (about 12 foot of water with alot stick ups and rocks)with live and cut blue gill on them. i ended up only catching 2 small blues and 2 huge snapping turtles. almost all my juggs were wrapped up in limbs baitless or swivles had been straighten. i used twine so i knew the line would break. i didnt put wieght in my pvc pipe to help them stand up when a fish is on. i was woundering what i am doing wrong to basicly get skunked with that many noodles. like i said i am new at this but would love some advice. moreover i have catfished the past 2 monday and havent had much luck, is it just a bad time right now for them to be biting.

2. Poppa

Poppa New Member

State:
    Pinson, Al
    Jug fishing is just like any other fishing, there are good spots and some
    not so good. Its mostly trail and error. Knowing where not to put them is
    almost as good as knowing where to put them. Snapping turtles will not
    normally bite a floating jug. They may have got on after the jugs were
    hung up. A good fish will hang you up if he can. After he hangs up he
    can break off. You may have done a lot better than you think. Don't
    get discouraged jug fishing is a lot of fun. Keep them in the water, try
    different baits and different locations you will hit on something sooner
    or later. Good luck to you.

3. lance

lance New Member

State:
    kentucky