Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a truck driver from nebraska. Monday evening near Avoca IA and seen give or take a 14" fork buck with a shiny set of antlers. Heck bucks dont even start getting racks, let alone without velvet. any thoughts ?

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
I would say he hasn't dropped last years yet, so many factors play in role when they drop there old racks. nutrition, minerals, pressure, stress, and probably the main one testosterone. I have read that buck start loosing there racks from Feb. to as late as the end of April or first of May and that one buck will probably run a 6 year cycle of around the same time each year with loosing each within an 48 hour period. Who knows for sure.

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
all of the bucks i have seen lately were mulies, and most of them had both or at least one antler.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Some deer dont shed antlers but just keep growing and growing. Some of the mule deer i have seen have had velvet all year long. Infact if you go to muliecrazy.com it talks a little about it. Hope this helps a little. Talk to yall later.:cool2:

·
Registered
10,863 Posts
I would say he hasn't dropped last years yet, so many factors play in role when they drop there old racks. nutrition, minerals, pressure, stress, and probably the main one testosterone. I have read that buck start loosing there racks from Feb. to as late as the end of April or first of May and that one buck will probably run a 6 year cycle of around the same time each year with loosing each within an 48 hour period. Who knows for sure.
I know a woman who has a buck in captivity. A dawg ran it off a bluff and broke it's leg. When the vet came and splinted it's leg, they also had it cut (castrated) and according to her, it no longer sheds it's horns. I'm no wildlife biologist and can't confirm this, but i know in the wild testosterone plays an important role.

·
Registered
1,750 Posts