No Velvet!

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by tkoehler, Mar 27, 2008.

1. tkoehler

tkoehler New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I am a truck driver from nebraska. Monday evening near Avoca IA and seen give or take a 14" fork buck with a shiny set of antlers. Heck bucks dont even start getting racks, let alone without velvet. any thoughts ?

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    Sounds like he has not shed. I have heard of this before. Its like teeth, they sometimes don't fall out until the new ones come in.

3. Todd Strong

Todd Strong Active Member

State:
    Cambridge, Ne
    I would say he hasn't dropped last years yet, so many factors play in role when they drop there old racks. nutrition, minerals, pressure, stress, and probably the main one testosterone. I have read that buck start loosing there racks from Feb. to as late as the end of April or first of May and that one buck will probably run a 6 year cycle of around the same time each year with loosing each within an 48 hour period. Who knows for sure.

4. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    all of the bucks i have seen lately were mulies, and most of them had both or at least one antler.

5. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    That was cool thanks for sharing that with us

6. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    Some deer dont shed antlers but just keep growing and growing. Some of the mule deer i have seen have had velvet all year long. Infact if you go to muliecrazy.com it talks a little about it. Hope this helps a little. Talk to yall later.:cool2:

7. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri